Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

Just the Right Amount of Violence



2013 DOK Leipzig, International Competition Documentary Film
Denmark | 2013 | 80 min. | English | English subtitles | European Premiere
Back to film list
Back
Just the Right Amount of Violence | Just the Right Amount of Violence

CATALOGUE TEXT
This could be Hollywood: two cops storm a house at dawn, drag a teenager out of his bedroom, pack him into their car, and drive off with him through the endless American landscape. An attempted escape, a chase, and the drive ends in a reform camp for unruly children in the middle of the desert. – This is Hollywood. At the foot of the mountain that bears the famous letters, Jon Bang Carlsen, known for his constant exploration of documentary reality and its constructedness, sets out in search of a dream that is ceaselessly being generated here: the happy family. Laughing children and caring parents – an image we all carry in our hearts and chase after eternally.
It’s the search for his own lost father that he condenses into a great essay about love, responsibility, and morals in this film. The statements of a young man who went through the merciless “intervention”, reports of officers of the “intervention team”, and personal reflections are counteracted by images of the clean suburban middle-class America. This is about a view of the world: if you don’t obey the “laws” (whose?) you will be punished – whether children by their parents or other nations by Uncle Sam. The dream of a perfect world that can be created this way is nothing but a fiction – which is why Carlsen goes far beyond the boundaries of the documentary once more.

Grit Lemke
Credits
Original Title: Just the Right Amount of Violence
Country: Denmark
Year: 2013
Language: English
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 80 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Producer: Jon Bang Carlsen, Helle Ulsteen
Director: Jon Bang Carlsen
Music: Nathan Larson
Cinematographer: Jon Bang Carlsen
Editor: Rikke Selin, Morten Giese, Hilda Rasula
Script: Jon Bang Carlsen
Sound: Jess Wolfsberg
Website:
Share this Film

The texts to the Documentary Competition films and the International Programme films were written by the members of the selection committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

Just the Right Amount of Violence


2013 DOK Leipzig, Internationaler Wettbewerb Dokumentarfilm
Dänemark | 2013 | 80 Minuten | englisch | englische Untertitel | Europäische Premiere
Back to film list
Zurück
Just the Right Amount of Violence | Just the Right Amount of Violence

KATALOGTEXT
Das könnte Hollywood sein: Zwei Cops stürmen im Morgengrauen ein Haus, zerren einen Teenager aus dem Kinderzimmerbett, verfrachten ihn ins Auto, fahren mit ihm durch die endlose amerikanische Weite. Ausbruchsversuch, Verfolgungsjagd, die Fahrt endet in einem Umerziehungslager für renitente Kinder mitten in der Wüste. – Das ist Hollywood. Am Fuß der Berge mit dem berühmten Schriftzug begibt sich Jon Bang Carlsen, bekannt für die ständige Auslotung der dokumentarischen Realität und ihrer Konstruiertheit, auf die Suche nach einem Traum, der hier permanent generiert wird: der von der glücklichen Familie. Lachende Kinder und fürsorgliche Eltern – ein Bild, das wir alle in uns tragen und dem wir ewig nachrennen.
Es ist die Suche nach dem eigenen verlorenen Vater, die sich zu einem großen Essay über Liebe, Verantwortung und Moral verdichtet. Aussagen eines jungen Mannes, der die gnadenlose „Intervention“ durchlief, Berichte von Officers der „Eingreiftruppe“ sowie persönliche Reflexionen werden von Bildern des sauberen, suburbanen Mittelschicht-Amerika konterkariert. Es geht um ein Weltbild: Wer sich nicht an „Gesetze“ (wessen?) hält, wird bestraft – egal ob Kinder von ihren Eltern oder andere Völker von Uncle Sam. Der Traum von der heilen Welt, die man so kreiert, ist nichts als Fiktion – weshalb Carlsen die Grenzen des Dokumentarischen hier wieder weit überschreitet.

Grit Lemke
Credits
Originaltitel: Just the Right Amount of Violence
Land: Dänemark
Jahr: 2013
Sprache: englisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 80 Minuten
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Produktion: Jon Bang Carlsen, Helle Ulsteen
Regie: Jon Bang Carlsen
Musik: Nathan Larson
Kamera: Jon Bang Carlsen
Schnitt: Rikke Selin, Morten Giese, Hilda Rasula
Buch: Jon Bang Carlsen
Ton: Jess Wolfsberg
Website:
SHARE THIS FILM

Annotationsverweis
Die Texte zu den Filmen in den Wettbewerbsprogrammen Dokumentarfilm und im Internationalen Programm wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.