Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

The Kill Team



2013 DOK Leipzig, International Programme Documentary Film
USA | 2013 | 79 min. | English | English subtitles | German Premiere
Back to film list
Back
The Kill Team | The Kill Team


CATALOGUE TEXT
In 2010 reports of the so-called “Kill Team” shocked the world. A group of soldiers had faked Afghan attacks, deliberately killed at least three innocent people and defiled their bodies. Two years later, Dan Krauss follows the traces of this war crime and tries to reconstruct the circumstances under which the soldiers were capable of these acts.
His main focus is on the ambivalent case of Private Adam Winfield, who was allegedly the first to report these heinous crimes. He was not heard at first. until it was no longer possible to hide the outrageous conditions in this unit and an internal investigation was ordered. Back in the States, Winfield himself was accused of premeditated murder and conspiracy. Some doubts remain whether his behaviour in Afghanistan was as honourable as he himself claimed.
Interviews with other soldiers gradually coalesce into a disturbing but extremely fascinating image of US army missions, not just in Afghanistan, and of their arrogant self-image as saviours of the world: they sit in their quarters somewhere at the dusty end of the world, bored, angry and ready to lash out because they are not allowed to do what in their opinion they are there to do.

Lina Dinkla
Credits
Original Title: The Kill Team
Country: USA
Year: 2013
Language: English
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 79 min.
Format: HDcam
Color: Colour
Director: Dan Krauss
Producer: Linda Davis, Julie Goldman, Deborah Hoffmann
Cinematographer: Dan Krauss
Editor: Lawrence Lerew
Sound: Jim Lebrecht
Music: Justin Melland
Share this Film

The texts to the Documentary Competition films and the International Programme films were written by the members of the selection committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

The Kill Team


2013 DOK Leipzig, Internationales Programm Dokumentarfilm
USA | 2013 | 79 Minuten | englisch | englische Untertitel | Deutsche Premiere
Back to film list
Zurück
The Kill Team | The Kill Team


KATALOGTEXT
Im Jahr 2010 erschütterten Berichte über das sogenannte „Kill Team“ die Öffentlichkeit. Eine Gruppe von Soldaten hatte Angriffe von Afghanen vorgetäuscht und so mindestens drei unschuldige Menschen vorsätzlich getötet und ihre Leichen geschändet. Zwei Jahre später macht sich Dan Krauss auf die Spur der Kriegsverbrechen und versucht zu rekonstruieren, unter welchen Umständen die Soldaten zu diesen Taten fähig waren.
Er konzentriert sich dabei insbesondere auf den ambivalenten Fall des Gefreiten Adam Winfield, der vermeintlich als erster Meldung über die ungeheuerlichen Vorgänge machte. Er blieb zunächst ungehört, bis die skandalösen Zustände in der Einheit nicht mehr weiter zu verbergen waren und eine interne Ermittlung angeordnet wurde. Wieder zurück in den USA, sieht sich Winfield selbst angeklagt wegen vorsätzlichen Mordes und Verschwörung. Es bleiben Zweifel, inwieweit sein Verhalten in Afghanistan so ehrenhaft war, wie er selbst es schildert.
In Gesprächen mit anderen beteiligten Soldaten ergibt sich nach und nach ein verstörendes, dennoch hochspannendes Bild von den Einsätzen der US-Armee, nicht nur in Afghanistan, und dem anmaßenden Selbstverständnis als Retter der Welt: Da sitzen sie in ihrem Quartier an irgendeinem staubigen Rand der Welt, gelangweilt, wütend und kurz vorm Ausrasten, weil sie nicht das tun dürfen, wozu sie ihrer Auffassung nach dort sind.

Lina Dinkla
Credits
Originaltitel: The Kill Team
Land: USA
Jahr: 2013
Sprache: englisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 79 Minuten
Format: HDcam
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Dan Krauss
Produktion: Linda Davis, Julie Goldman, Deborah Hoffmann
Kamera: Dan Krauss
Schnitt: Lawrence Lerew
Ton: Jim Lebrecht
Musik: Justin Melland
SHARE THIS FILM

Annotationsverweis
Die Texte zu den Filmen in den Wettbewerbsprogrammen Dokumentarfilm und im Internationalen Programm wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.