Deutsch / English
DOK Leipzig Film Festival
Shopping Cart



Login


Register
Forgot password?
Reset / Highlights
v
v
v
v

DNA Dreams


International Competition Documentary Film
Netherlands | 2012 | 54 min. | Chinese, Danish, English | English subtitles | German Premiere
Back to film list
Back
DNA Dreams | DNA Dreams


Synopsis
They are young and highly motivated, have studied abroad and speak fluent English. The employees of the Chinese BGI Ark Biotechnology company study the relation between the human DNA code and IQ. Between their cell-like workplaces and sterile labs, dreaming is still allowed because this is where our future is shaped. Which baby would you like? On the backdrop of China’s one-child policy it’s only natural that it should be perfect. So one day we will be able to assemble our ideal child by character, intelligence and looks, like in a department store. Of course, genes that guarantee a long life are particularly valued.
This company, which accepts only the blood samples of the very best, sees itself as a saviour of humanity in the vein of Noah’s Ark. Director Bregtje van der Haak was given generous access to the company premises where the young scientists talk freely about their visions. You can literally sense their excitement at “playing God”. But what if the results of their research are translated into a Western business model? As the director includes apparently peripheral details into her visual world, she manages to open a space for reflection that brings home the contemporaneity and monstrosity of these horror scenarios.

Cornelia Klauß
CineStar 8
31/10/2013 / 22:30
CineStar 8
01/11/2013 / 14:00

This film screens as part of the programme Vegas + DNA Dreams.

To see this programme and buy tickets, click here.

Credits
Original Title: DNA Dreams
Country: Netherlands
Year: 2012
Language: Chinese, Danish, English
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 54 min.
Format: HDcam
Color: Colour
Producer: Brigit Dopheide
Director: Bregtje van der Haak
Cinematographer: Jean Counet, Hai Hong, Maarten Kramer
Editor: Patrick Minks, Maasja Ooms
Sound: Joris van Ballegoijen, Sander den Broeder
Share this Film

Similar films
Eugenic Minds
Eugenic Minds
   

The annotation to the Documentary Competition films and the International Programme films were written by the members of the selection committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

DNA Dreams


2013 DOK Leipzig, Internationaler Wettbewerb Dokumentarfilm
Niederlande | 2012 | 54 Minuten | chinesisch, dänisch, englisch | englische Untertitel | Deutsche Premiere
Back to film list
Zurück
DNA Dreams | DNA Dreams


KATALOGTEXT
Sie sind jung und hochmotiviert, haben im Ausland studiert und sprechen fließend englisch. Die Mitarbeiter der chinesischen Firma BGI Ark Biotechnology widmen sich der Erforschung des menschlichen DNA-Codes in Relation zum IQ. Hier, zwischen den zellenartigen Arbeitsplätzen und sterilen Labors, darf noch geträumt werden, denn hier wird unsere Zukunft modelliert. Welches Baby hätten Sie denn gern? Vor dem Hintergrund der Ein-Kind-Politik Chinas ist es doch nur allzu verständlich, dass dieses ein perfektes sein soll. Man wird sich also irgendwann – wie in einem Warenhaus – sein Wunschkind nach Charakter, Intelligenzgrad und Aussehen zusammenstellen können. Selbstverständlich stehen Gene, die ein langes Leben garantieren, besonders hoch im Kurs.
Wie einst Noahs Arche versteht sich das Unternehmen, das nur Blutproben von den besten akzeptiert, als Retter der Menschheit. Der Regisseurin Bregtje van der Haak wurde großzügig Zugang zu den Firmenräumen gewährt, wo die jungen Wissenschaftler freimütig von ihren Visionen erzählen. Man spürt förmlich, wie es sie reizt, „Gott zu spielen“. Aber was, wenn die Forschungsergebnisse in ein westliches Geschäftsmodell überführt werden? Da die Regisseurin auch scheinbar nebensächliche Details in die Bildwelt einbezieht, gelingt es ihr, einen Denkraum zu erschaffen, der uns die Gegenwärtigkeit und Ungeheuerlichkeit dieser Horrorszenarien vor Augen führt.

Cornelia Klauß
Credits
Originaltitel: DNA Dreams
Land: Niederlande
Jahr: 2012
Sprache: chinesisch, dänisch, englisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 54 Minuten
Format: HDcam
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Bregtje van der Haak
Produktion: Brigit Dopheide
Kamera: Jean Counet, Hai Hong, Maarten Kramer
Schnitt: Patrick Minks, Maasja Ooms
Ton: Joris van Ballegoijen, Sander den Broeder
SHARE THIS FILM

Annotationsverweis
Die Texte zu den Filmen in den Wettbewerbsprogrammen Dokumentarfilm und im Internationalen Programm wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.